Government of Maharashtra


Per Adruva Ad Astra (By steep and toilsome way towards the stars)

An Autonomous Institute

NAAC Reaccredited ‘A’ Grade in 3rd Cycle with CGPA 3.07

Department of Environmental Science

A contemplation of hoisting the Environmental Science Department was perceived by Dr. R.B. Kharat, Professor at the Department of Chemistry, Government Institute of Science, Nagpur to disseminate the Ecological knowledge and inculcate the sense of nurturing sustainable nature among the young intellects. Department of Environmental Science commenced in the year 1986 (academic session) at Government Institute of Science, Nagpur. It was endeavoured to cater the need of environmental connoisseur for the regional and national laboratories a well environmental consultancies in order to endow the society with Environmental Experts inherited with geographical acquaintance of Vidarbha and its climatic conditions.

There are 11 national level laboratories including the internationally distinguished Government of India authorised CSIR-National Environmental Engineering Regional Institute (NEERI) in the proximity of Nagpur. The laboratory desires high number of research trainee and scientists. Another major research centres are Central Institute for Cotton Research, National Centre for Citrus Research Institute, Jawaharlal Nehru Aluminium Research Centre etc.

From past 30 years, Departmental of Environmental Science is creating the dedicated, legitimate and hardworking students with core knowledge about Ecosystem, Biodiversity, Natural Resource Management and Pollution abatement technologies which eventually satiate the aforementioned placements.

List of heads whose efforts lead department toward excellence

SN Name of Head Duration
1 Dr.R.B.Kharat 1987-1995
2 Dr.R.S.Bhavsar 1995-1996
3 Dr.J.L.Tarar 1996-2002
4 Dr.M.R.Thosar 2002-2003
5 Dr.Tarar 2003-2004
6 Dr.R.G.Pashine 2004-2005
7 Dr.M.R.Thosar 2005-2006
8 Dr. V.Tabhane 2006-2007
9 Dr.S.D.Narkhede 2007-2011
10 Dr.D.B.Patil 2011-2012
11 Dr.S.H.Ganatra 2012-2014
12 Dr.D.B.Patil 2014-2016
13 Dr.S.D.Narkhede 2016-till date